Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be this case? what could be the disadvantage of being self-employed.

In recent years, a good number of individuals prefer being entrepreneurs to working for companies or organizations. This is as result of people's desire for job freedom. Moreover, they gain from it because there are no delays in the payment of salaries. Many people want to be free from the control of any boss. This is why they crave so much for self-employment. Being an entrepreneur creates room for personal and private running of one's business, without interference from an inter authority. For example, my cousin owns a company, B and Z Limited, which majors in rubber production. Since he started, the control and administration of authority in his company lies in his hands, which gives him more time to attend to other family need. This is why people like being their business owners. Being a business owner means people would not have to wait for a specific date before receiving their salaries. This is one main advantage accrued to self-improvement. Being in this state, they can pay themselves at anytime the need arises. For example, marketers in Oshodi Market, the third largest market in East Africa, make their monies each day, without the tension and uncertainty of monthly salaries. Therefore, the benefit of being a business owner is the availability of capital whenever it is needed. In conclusion, people's preference for self reliance in business recently is due to their need for freedom. Undoubtedly, they gain from being in this position because it allows them access to money whenever they need it.