Nowadays, many old cities are redesigned and rebuilt in order to look modern. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this practice?

It is a known fact that cities are being changed and rebuilt by new techniques. It has to be admit that, there are merits and demerits. I personally believe that advantages outweigh disadvantages. On the one hand, technological advantages makes a peak change. To substantiate, technology improves the city by its changes. New buildings are being made by different type of architectural designs. New buildings are not easily destroyed by natural disasters like cyclone and flood. For example; large number of old buildings were destroyed by tsunami in Japan, but it affected very less number of new buildings. Moreover architectural differences and peculiarities makes the buildings different from one another, each building show it' s own identity. However, culture and tradition changes by its nature. To clarify, we lose our culture that were followed by our grandparents. For example; nowadays we gives more importance to the beauty of the house rather than its appearance. We gives more importance to the designs but olden days they built houses which gives much more importance to nature culture and religion. Furthermore, nothing goes wrong. Each building is a backbone of its city. Building inturns change the city. Modern buildings gives outstanding appearancestors of the city. It indicates how modern the city is. In conclusion, we cannot deny the fact that each changes in this era is the part of modernisation. So rebuilding and redesigning is essential when we look in to the city development.