In many cities there is a lack of space to develop and as a result, in order to modernize, old buildings are demolished and replaced with new buildings. What are the disadvantages of knocking down old buildings? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

When it comes to development, a growing number of cities are facing the problem of space constraint and therefore, are modernizing by constructing new buildings in place of old ones. However, there are few disadvantages of removing old complexes such as destroying the history associated with them and negative impact on tourism. Firstly, whenever an old construction is completed demolished, with it demolishes the entire history behind that building. Some of the ancient cities such as Rome and Athens are hugely popular only on account of the medieval architectural marvels they possess. These structures are the cities’ very essence and are, in fact, akin to their heartbeat. If old palaces and churches are destroyed only to replace with modern architecture, the city’s charm is at risk of being lost. Moreover, the history of any country can be understood to a great extent by the kind of architecture it had and the technology used by the people in that era which can be learned through such buildings. Secondly, removing old complexes can also lead to a gradual downfall in tourism. As most of the contemporary cities are developed only in the last century, there are only a handful of cities which still hold age old infrastructures. If these are not preserved, it will definitely have an adverse impact on world tourism. On the other hand, improved safety is the key advantage when we consider modern infrastructure. Many of the old buildings might have been damaged over the period of time and can pose a serious risk to the visitors as well as people living in the vicinity. Replacing them with new ones can help bring in improved safety standards. To conclude, I do not think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. While safety is a very important issue, it can also be achieved by renovating old complexes and not necessarily taking them down completely. This can ensure the heritage is maintained without compromising on safety.