Nowadays many children are playing computer games instead of doing sports activities. Why is it happening? Is it a negative or positive development?

Young individuals today are used to play computer games instead of doing outdoor activities because of a number of reasons, but this development can be widely viewed as a negative one. One of the reasons behind this kind of trend is due to the advancement of technology. They tend to play computer games because it is more enjoyable and fun. Example of this includes, Dota 2, Counterstrike, Conquer Online and League of Legends which are so addictive and exciting to play along with friends. Furthermore, playing computer games online doesn't require them to go outside just to play with their companions. They just need a good internet connection and a personal computer that can manage to download those kind of games. In effect, children will be safe from any danger and accidents as they are just playing in their home. However, I am of the belief that this will lead to many negative consequences. For one, it will probably result to certain health problems like vision impairment and neck strains as they are sitting and playing for longer hours. Also, serious health issues may develop in the future like cancer because of too much radiation that are being absorbed in the body and mental health issues like depression will likely to happen as these young individuals are used to be lonely and isolated in their rooms. In summary, children enjoyed playing computer games rather than doing sports activities because of certain reasons. Nevertheless, this development will cause serious negative effects in their health in the future.