Some students take a year off between school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people contend that taking a rest for one year and do the work or journey before they matriculate is advantageous for students, whereas others argue that it is not beneficial. I would argue that the merits of the gap year to do work or travel is superior to its demerits. On the negative side, it is believed that one gap year of entering universities has some disadvantages. To begin with, the delaying matriculation for one year leads one year lateness for graduation, and it affects student’s job haunting badly. For example, in Japan, the almost all students graduate from their universities when they are 22 years old, and then they start working for companies in the same age. Thus, if students have one gap year to do work or something, they have to begin their job hunting when they are 23 years old, and they unfortunately are likely to have difficulty in getting their own jobs. On the positive side, others, including me, believe that this rest time for one year between a high school and university to do travel or work has advantages over disadvantages for some reasons. First of all, one significant merit to do so is that students can understand their curiosities and necessary skills for a job. For instance, if they have an internship for a year, they can know about required skills for the job and they are able to take appropriate courses to get needed skill sets for their ideal work. For another example, if students take trip for one year, they possibly understand what they really want to do in their future in the way of the travel. These proses cause them to take job haunting of the industries which they are eager to enter based on their skills and curiosities and it leads them to obtain their ideal jobs. In conclusion, it is clear that there is one huge demerit, one year delay of starting a job hunting on due to the above reason. However, personally, I believe that a gap year have students understand their interest and this leads them to get appropriate jobs.