Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, it creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In today's world, international tourism is generating enormous financial-economic and has become an important source of income for numerous countries around the globe. However, it's believed that travel overseas cultural forms tension instead of understanding. I partly disagree with this notion as in my opinion, international travel generates cultural learning and acceptance. On the one hand, some behaviours of the visitors may indeed cause conflicts. Apparently, some of the tourists do not bother to search for information about the cultures of their destinations before they start off, so they might display some impolite or even offensive behaviour, which can lead to local people’s unhappiness or even aggression. For example, a Western travelled to an Arab country is unlikely to consider that the covering of women from head to toe with fabric is acceptable or the killing of animals for certain holidays is humane. It can add to the tension when a westerner decides that this is wrong and tries to disclose on social media. Each culture has its customs, values, and belief system, and global tourism brings diverse cultural backgrounds in one place, resulting in several differing opinions in the same place. However, the tourism industry is the best possible way to build a bridge between diverse cultures. When people from different cultures come together, they'll gain knowledge about other traditions and languages. In fact, this forms acceptance, respect between global cultures as people get aware of other people’s cultural values. Besides, the development of travelling overseas stimulates economic growth by generating enormous employment opportunities. These lead to an increase in the average household income and a decrease in the unemployed rate. In conclusion, Some conflicts may arise from the misunderstanding due to the growing popularity of travel, but I would argue that most people become more open and permissive with other cultures