Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. with this opinion?

International tourism is one of the biggest industries contributing towards the economic growth of a country. It does create some conflicts between locals and visitors but these are not complicated issues and hence I do not agree with the argument that it creates more tension than understanding. International tourism creates some worries because there is a cultural difference between the tourists and the locals. The tourists who visit foreign countries are not completely aware of the culture and the traditions of that country, because of which they are misunderstood for their activities by the natives. As a result, the locals sometimes take offence leading to conflicts and misunderstandings between them and the visitors. For instance, locals in Tirupati caught a foreign tourist, who tried to enter the temple with a bottle of beer. Later the tourist was informed of the religious significance of that temple. On the bright side, international tourism plays a major role in promoting global peace and understanding. When people visit other countries, they learn to respect their culture and way of life. This facilitates better relationship between countries. As for the conflicts, they can be resolved easily. Both the locals and the tourist should be aware of the cultural differences and the locals cannot expect the foreigners to know everything about the tradition of the place they are visiting. Furthermore, locals should not get into conflicts with tourists; rather they should make the tourists understand the traditional values and the ethics. Similarly, foreigners should give respect and cooperate with the local people in order to avoid any unnecessary conflicts. The government of both the countries should educate the people to understand the cultural difference and how to deal with such issues. In conclusion, though some conflicts may arise due to the growing popularity of international tourism, in my opinion, it is largely a positive trend and needs to be promoted. The minor issues that could arise can be sorted out with a little effort.