Nowadays genetically modified food is widespread all over the world. While proponents of GM crops ensure that these foods are safe for human consumption and help to increase food supplies, others argue that their effects on health have not been studied long enough. Describe pros and cons of genetically modified foods.

People all around the world have been paying more attention to the significance of genetic engineering and one indispensable perspective of that is genetically-modified food (GMO). Although this new trend occasionally brings numerous benefits to humanity, it cannot be excluded from the fact that it could come along with downsized aspects. This essay will outline some outstanding advantages alongside inescapable drawbacks of this pattern. There are certain factors of the genetically modified food helping bring merits to light. Firstly, crop modification will bring resistant to various plant diseases and it also targets infestation of unwanted insects. In other words, the amount of pesticides and fertiliser used are dwindled, leading to a healthier dietary lifestyle. Secondly, many countries being in favor of producing genetically products may enable their farmers to produce crops that grow bigger and faster, contributing to a good variety of plants and abundant harvest. Additionally, genetic engineering can also address the food demands’ demonstration around the globe since many developing countries irregularly experience from food scarcities. However, some negativities could sidetrack long-term effects that GMO-favored manufacturers and customers crave for. Manifest reasons for these are the concerns of human health in which most modified foods contain toxins that are detrimental to our health. The deficiency of knowledge researched into this type of food might worry people as they do not have sufficient information about its nutritional value. Another major problem is the potential harm to the environment. Once the GMO’s production is complete, its organisms may be released into the wild, causing food chains’ intervention or creating some kinds of undesirable species. To sum up, every story has two sides and the production and consumption of genetically modified foods are not the exception. To make the most of this organic type of food, scientists and nutritionists should carefully look into fundamentally relatable ingredients to assure the betterment of each individual in the future.