Nowadays, families are not as close as in the past and a lot of people have become used to this. Explain the reasons for this and discuss any possible effects it may have on society.

A healthy relationship among families plays a key role in society. When compared to the past, the families are not close to each other in modern times and people are accustomed to this phenomenon. This essay will discuss both the reasons behind such development and its effects on society. There are multiple reasons why the families are not as close nowadays as they used to be earlier. Firstly, the modern world is all about overwhelming competitiveness, people should be in a constant race in achieving goals and securing personal interests. In this process, members of the close families are living in different parts of the country, sometimes even in different parts of the world. Therefore, it is too difficult for people to be in touch regularly. Furthermore, people do not have time to spend with near families as they are very busy at work. Even when they get free time, they prefer to stay in their homes and devote time to their family members. Reduced closeness has both positive and negative effects on society. The worst effect of this development is the lack of support from near and dear when needed. Humans are highly social and it is important for families to maintain a good relationship with close families because when they need social, financial or moral support, they rely on. For example, when there is a wedding in a family it is the closer families who come forward to offer help in organizing the event. On the other hand, when the families have distance among them, there is less probability for any friction between them which in turn results in a peaceful society. In conclusion, it is true that families are as close as in the past which has both positive and negative effects on society. This phenomenon is mainly attributed to the fact that the families are living far from one another who are busy working than social connections.