It is common practice for some students to take a gap year between high school and university in order to do charitable work abroad in under developed countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages for young people of doing volunteer work?

Some students opt for a gap year between a high school and tertiary education so that to do charitable work abroad in less fortunate nations. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this trend. There are some advantageous of doing charitable work. One positive aspect is that, it brings a sense of empathy for people in teenagers. Youngsters involving themselves in some kind of charitable activity by taking a break in their studies, instill in them the sense of responsibility they have for the betterment of people who are underprivileged. Taking initiatives for doing something useful for a person can in turn developed a sympathy for others. A recent study by Oxford University, for instance, suggested that younger people who opt for any kind of charitable work, are more sensitive regarding other people of the society who are less fortunate. Another good point is that, doing charitable work apart from studies ca build the practical experience and skills-set in students. Charitable work such as teaching to the people in the less developed area, and performing duty as a medical trainer, consist of opting to practical work, which in turn is beneficial for fostering practical knowledge in students. This trend has some negative outcomes on teenagers. Firstly, investing time in charitable work can compromise the studies of the younger people. Practical work such as the charitable work required a person to abandon its school or university going for a specific time period, which can have detrimental effects on studies, as not taking classes or lectures for long can divert the attention of students form education. Research by National College of Indonesia, for example, reported that teenagers who opt for a practical work not directly related to their studies, for more than a month, by leaving studies can significantly diminishes their interest in studies. Secondly, teenagers are highly prone to the inexperienced environment of another country. Students travelling to other country for the purpose of charitable work may be affected by the bad people and their surroundings. This is because they are not aware of the circumstances and people, and they may be easily indulged in some bad activities by local bad people. In conclusion, taking a gap year between a high school and university education has advantages such as building a sense of doing something for others and developing practical experience, and also drawbacks mainly abandoning studies and vulnerability of teenagers in abroad country to the bad people.