Nowadays even more people are throwing things away that got broken and in the past people would try to repair these things instead of throwing away. Why do you think this is happening? What are possible solutions to this problem?

Disposing of items with defects has become the de facto standard as opposed to fixing whatever ailment the product might have. Throwing away and buying new is the postmodern mantra and seems to be a manifestation of a philosophy steeped in hyper capitalism. It was not always like this – items of various functionalities, be it shoes, televisions or furniture, would get repaired and usually would last a rather long product life. As foreshadowed earlier, I believe that our current form of capitalism is to blame to a large extent for our throw-away culture. There is an overabundance of supplies that exhibit diminished product quality and are not built to last. Even worse, products are planned in such a way that they break after a certain time and are built accordingly. This is in contrast to just a few decades ago, where consumables would seem to last for a life time. Not surprisingly, the age of unprecedented global trade had not yet entered the world stage and correspondingly, the relative scarcity of products would ensure that manufacturers put emphasis on quality, whereas trade nowadays is focused on quantity and, even more importantly, on novelty. Nonetheless, there seems to be an ever-growing counter movement emerging that tries to raise awareness of the problems associated with our throw-away culture. For example, it has become increasingly unpopular to use plastic bags and also plastic product packaging as a result of the efforts by this counter movement. Plastic bags even got banned in the majority of Australia and other countries. This kind of approach is at the heart of the solution to the throw-away culture and educating people of the aftermath of increasing garbage piles will change the behaviour of consumers, which in turn forces manufacturers to also change their approach to doing business. In conclusion, I believe that raising awareness of the dangers associated with environmental pollution due to increasing waste, lies at the centre of tackling the throw-away culture we live in. This will lead to changes in behaviour of both, consumers and businesses, resulting in more durable products and a more sustainable economy.