These days many of us prefer to throw damaged things away, whereas in the past people used to repair damaged items and keep them for a long time. Explain why you think this change has happened? What are the effects of this change in attitude?

Today, it is ubiquitous that people throw their non-functioning items; however, a few decades ago, our ancestors tended to keep such items until it is completely useless. From my perspective, this contrasting change is because of the advent of technologies and representation of their status symbol, and it has negative effects on the environment. These reasons and effects will be discussed in detail. To start with, there are several rationales for the diverse change in people mind about handling damaged things. First, the recent development in technology such as smart-phone, smart-watch, offers a wide range of functionalities to ease the user's life. Functions like, counting footsteps, heartbeat rate, video calling and many more, are considered are very essential for one's health update, which enforces people to have always updated devices. Considering this, people just throw away once the device malfunctioning and buy the new one. Another reason is no matter how poor is the person, they try to keep up with the Joneses. Although old items have little damage, they buy new items for the sake of keeping their status in society. It is important to underline the effects of such divergence in people's perspective. The serious ramification is on the environment. Throwing away society will result in a lot of e-waste that is difficult to get rid of it without affecting the environment. In order to destroy such damaged items, they have to burn it which will emit carbon dioxide into the Ozone layer causing environment enormously. As the demand increases, production will increase resulting in reduced in the unemployment rate and increasing the country's economy. In conclusion, the change in human's viewpoint towards using damaged items is mainly due to advancement in technology and people's attitude of showing status. This change has deleterious effects on the environment and silver lining for a country's economic development.