Nowadays consumer goods have become the most important part of people’s lives. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Consumerism is now a world-wide phenomenon. We can find both online and offline stores filled with fast moving products of all kinds. From the looks of it, therefore, consumer goods have become the most important part of people’s lives. Hence, It is imperative to examine whether this trend is advantageous or not to the common man. The single most important advantage of having a product for your every need, is its easy availability at your local retail store or even on your favourite online store. Both of these are usually one-stop shops from which you can purchase everything that you need - from your most sought after brand of cereal to the trendiest gadget. Evidently, then, you don’t have to buy from the producer directly, which also means that you can find goods which could have been produced in another city or even country. Low prices and convenient packaging are two other advantages that add to the experience of convenience and quick access, which is the hallmark of this trend. In contrast, the corresponding disadvantage has to do with the nature of packaging of these goods. They are made of plastic or plastic derivatives, which are discarded once the contents have been used. The magnitude of goods being bought, generates insane amounts of plastic refuse, which then accumulates in large numbers that poses disposal problems, turning it into an environmental hazard. Add to this the disadvantages of chemical preservatives and aggressive advertising and you have a perfect concoction for impending problems for the buyer. The awareness of these disadvantages however, has made the end-user choosy. Although it hasn’t stopped him from buying, it has made him more discerning. When you weigh the advantages against the disadvantages of consumer goods and their importance in people’s lives, it is evident that they far outweigh the disadvantages. These goods will continue to have an increasingly important place in people’s lives. I predict that producers will innovate further and begin to appeal to the finer sensibilities of their customers so that they can take advantage of the expanding market in this sector.