Nowadays companies and other organisations are requiring their employees to wear a uniform. What is your viewpoint on this?

Uniforms are usually seen as serving several purposes in the educational institutions, workplace and service organisations; mostly it is aimed to provide identity and recognition but in some way achieves more than solving a dilemma of what to wear to work today. The organisations that implement uniforms have several reasons for such practices, this practice embodies more than the norm of the trade. Usually, by following this practice the organisations realise several important, internal and external, objectives. I have heard an anecdote of a seasoned banking president who used to have his staff buy their suits from only one tailor in the city, he had standardized the cut and allowed several somber color choices for staff members to pick from, the philosophy, as narrated by one of his staff members, was to create a professional look amongst his staff who feels proud of their profession and give out an authoritative vibe to the people who visited their bank. Some other organisations use the uniforms as a symbol of their corporate identity like airlines, hotels, restaurants, enhancing their visibility to the world outside and causing free advertisement of the “brand” they represent. Of course, the attire places the brand at a different level, if you see an air hostess crisply dressed in an elegant outfit the image of the airline by default jumps up a notch.   There are several other reasons as to why uniforms could be an appropriate choice like equality and ranking among members of the same organisation, a sign of showing preparedness for work and so on. Having said all above it does not mean that uniforms do not bring any downsides, the foremost is the monotony that members feel in their lives, wearing the same colours and clothes every day can lead to losing the enthusiasm as envisaged at the time of designing the uniforms. Imagine a person who is not taking good care of his/her attire and creating an image that is contrary to image the organisation is trying to build – this unification as can develop the brand, can also destroy it because of a single person not carrying it appropriately. There are several other possible reasons why uniforms could be detrimental to the cause of equality/corporate image like poor reproduction in repetitive orders by the supplier leading to several shades of the colours/cuts of the outfits that pass for a uniform, instead is an attempt to unify the form failing flagrantly.