Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity.

People have different views with regard to the use of animals for medical experiments. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are favoured of them because of their benefits to humanity. In my view, I believe that these experiments should be banned because it is ethically unacceptable. There are several reasons why some people support using the animal in the medical research and other product testing. The main reason why some people value animal experiments to conduct medical research is because many special medical discoveries involved animal testing. It is true that nearly every medical breakthrough in the last 100 years has resulted directly from research using animals. For example, experiments in which dogs had their pancreases removed led directly to the discovery of insulin, critical to saving the lives of diabetics. Furthermore, animal testing enables scientists and researchers to test the safety of medication and other substance with which humans have contacts. For instance, drugs may pose significant harm to humans, so testing them on animals first give researchers good chance to determine drug safety before human trials are performed. Various reasons can be put forward to elaborate why it is cruel and even unnecessary for testing medicines on other species. First, animals have equal right to live as humans, so human have no right to subject them to this kind of trauma. Experimenting on animals because they have no cognitive ability, language or moral judgment like humans do is unfair and morally unacceptable. Second, it could be argued that medical research carried out for mere cosmetic ends is undoubtedly not worth the lives of innocent animals. People should have developed better method to solve the issue. For example, retail chains such as Lush and The Body Shop choose natural solutions against animal testing. Both companies can develop a safer medicine by using combinations of natural plants (herbal). In conclusion, although animal testing may improve the lives of humans, it is not fair that animals should suffer in order to achieve this. I strongly believe that involving animal as an object in medicine test should be banned.