Nowadays a lot of offices are being built an open plan design. Why is that? Do you see this as a positive or negative development? . Discuss your opinion and support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

The architectural designs have changed massively in last few decades. People are now preferring spacious buildings for offices and schools instead of congested interiors. The popularity of this development is largely due to growing need of accommodating overpopulation. Although it is less suffocating, the disadvantage of losing privacy clearly outweighs its positives. The main reason to implement open plan design is to prepare for large number of individuals in future. It means the population of earth is increasing rapidly, offices and schools are likely to get overcrowded in coming years. Since architects plan buildings that could last for several decades, they design them in order to cater possible increase in head count. For example, Apple company designed their office on open plan design so that if number of employees are increased, new cubicles could be added in the office. While open plan design has wider space, it significantly reduces privacy. In such design lesser partitions are added and rooms are often merged with each other. This leads to massive interruptions and background noise. For example, teachers often complaint about noise in open space classrooms because of lack of walls. This results in loss of productive work or class environment. Furthermore, in modern world, privacy is valued immensely so residents or employees often resent this deficiency. To conclude, construction on spacious designs has become famous among real estate circles in order to cater possible escalation of population. While it reduces congestion, the loss of personal space makes it an architectural failure. So, undoubtedly, care must be taken while implementing such plan on massive level so that adjustment of large proportion of masses does not come at the cost of their discomfort.