Not so many people use a bicycle although it has many benefits. Why? How to encourage people to use bicycles as a main transport?

Recent years witnessed the upwards spectrum in gas-driven vehicle users, raising many questions of bicycles’ significance despite their advantages. Given that this pattern could be attributed to many reasons, official authorities’ initiatives could reverse it. There are many reasons for citizens’ indifference to bicycles. First, Bikes are invariably associated with low speed and excessive demand for physical strength, costing unnecessary time and effort when it comes to moving from one location to another from a far distance. Second, Some nations could not invest any capital budget into the installation of public infrastructure serving the needs of bike users such as highways for cyclers. This would lead to bikers’ transgression onto roads for other vehicles, increasing the possibilities of fatal accidents. However, governments should undertake many initiatives to combat this issue. First, governments are highly-recommended to raise the tariff on cars or car components for manufacturing in the local market. This would make the car prices beyond the reach of many individuals with limited incomes and exclusively within the affordability of those with high purchasing power, forcing people to resort to cheaper alternatives especially bicycles. In addition, Official authorities should organize campaigns to raise citizens’ awareness of automobile dependency’s environmental impacts, thereby culminating in the rise in bike users and the decline in other gas-powered vehicles. In conclusion, citizens’ preference for other vehicles rather than bicycles could stem from the excessive requirement of physical strength of bikes and the lack of public cycle infrastructure. However, official authorities should reverse this pattern by either increasing the import duty on cars or conducting campaigns in favour of bike usage.