Not many people use a bicycle although it has many benefits. Why? How to encourage people to use bicycles as a main transport?

In recent years, bicycles have gained less popularity than any other modes of transport. There are several reasons for this trend and some effective measures could be adopted to encourage people using bicycles more in my essay. There are a couple of reason to explain why people do not use bicycles on their daily basis. One reason is that using bike is ineffective. This is because when people travel long distances in case of emergency or in extreme weather conditions, using other means of transport such as motorbike, private car, and bus is more convenient and not physically demanding like bike. Another reason is that riding bicycles, people might be able to face with a sense of fear and unsafe because in most developing countries, there are no private lanes for cyclists. As a result, in Vietnam, there is an increasingly unpredictable number of accidents happened by using bike. Therefore, some practical solutions are suggested to encourage people to use bicycles as a main transport. Firstly, anyone can build up their fitness, beginning with practising to use a bike for short journeys to school, to work or to the shops. Secondly, the government should construct private lanes for only bike riders so this not only guarantees the safety of cyclists but also increases their speed of movement. Thirdly, the local authorities should launch more campaigns in school and in the neighborhoods, aimed at raise people awareness of the advantages of riding a bike, for instance improving health benefits and keep the body in shape. This is expected to encourage people to travel more by bike in the future. In conclusion, I have presented some reasons why bicycles are becoming less common in today’s world and put forward some measures to encourage people to use this environmentally friendly means of transport for the above mentioned arguments.