Newspapers have an enormous influence on people’s ideas and opinions. Why? Is this a positive or negative situation?

The phenomenal influence of newspapers on human perspective is widely awareness. There are raising questions of why such a trend is happened and whether it is a negative or positive one. For the first question, it is my belief that due to the tremendous demand of getting updated about the world around of people, newspapers can have such an impact. Since it has been the most traditional way of updating news for people for centuries, the majority rather confide in it than some social media. This is how certain opinion and idea is implied and spread among people, and to me, such a trend having both positive and negative aspects. On the one hand, everyone can read news with newspaper. it is hard for elderly people to check on the news on digital devices because not all of them know how to interact with those devices, so newspaper seems to be a better choice for those aged citizens. On the other hand, it can mislead people with fake news and unqualified information. The president of the United States, whose name Donald Trump has given a warning about such a possibility regarding the fake news related to him during his presidential campaign in 2016. Or in Vietnam, some targets have been charged for spreading the fake news about some diseases that scarring the society. Furthermore, each newspaper has a unique perspective on specific issues, and many relying on such. By virtue of that, certain group of people will be misjudged. For instance, some presidential candidates using newspaper as an effective tool for their campaign, and if the citizens rely on those sources to vote, they may elect the wrong person to work for the country. In conclusion, I deem that the impact of newspaper on the citizens’ point of view have both advantages and disadvantages. However, for all the reasons mentioned above, the disadvantages have outweighed its advantages.