News plays an important part of most people’s lives. Why is news so important to people? Why is so much news dedicated to bad news? Should the news focus on good news instead?

The rate of criminal activities associated with young people has increased significantly in major towns across the globe. This is mainly because of increased unemployment and poor parental upbringing. There are a number of possible solutions which should be implemented to deal with this issue. Firstly, high level of unemployment among youths have caused a rise of crime rate in many urban areas. This is because many young people, especially graduates that are skilled in various professional fields, have no means of livelihood. In order to survive, they engage in different forms of vices, such as armed robbery, kidnapping and drug peddling, which are the reasons for this upsurge in crime. For example, most detained criminals in Police custody have claimed that joblessness is the major reason for indulging in such criminal acts. Secondly, lack of parental upbringing has also contributed to increase in social vices in major urban areas. Owing to the recent family structure, where both parents are working to provide for the family, they rarely have time to train and nurture their children into becoming responsible members of the society. Consequently, they are often influenced by peer pressure to join cultism and harmful gangs that are known for terrible criminal activities. One major potential method of tackling this problem is provision of jobs and soft loans by the government. This platform will encourage these young people to be gainfully employed as well as established small scale businesses to be financially stable. Another way of dealing with the issue is by creating awareness of proper parenting. There should be workshops and symposium a on the importance of appropriate parental training, so that parents can raise children that will be useful to the society. In conclusion, providing jobs, loans and creating awareness of proper parenting are effective ways to tackle increased crime rate among young people in major towns across the globe.