News media are important in modern society. Why are they so important? Are their influences generally positive or negative?

In modern society, the general tendency has been that news media plays an essential role more and more in our life. Several related reasons, as well as the pros and cons of that issue, have been debated upon and this essay will tackle the most important ones. First and foremost, among the numerous reasons for the problem above, the most remarkable one is that human beings can easily update more information all over the world through TV, radio, newspaper or the Internet. For example, online newspapers are updated almost with all information in every view such as economy, society and education. Besides, there are various professions’ information like farmers, entrepreneurs, workers, teachers and so on, which people can get them not only good news but also bad news all day long. Another reason is the human connection with their world. People can know what is happening around them, helping them have more topics to discuss with others that increase the connection between people. If people just spend their daily life on eating, working and sleeping without getting more news, their life will become closed and boring even society will return to prehistoric times. Then, the most obvious gain of the circumstance is it creates favorable conditions for people to know difficult circumstances in society, which is a bridge for people to share together, helping society grow more and more. However, the more communication channels appear, the more untrustworthy news are given. Currently, there is too many news on unreliable newspapers that give false news, making people are missed their understand. Furthermore, content plagiarism in newspapers is also increasing significantly in recent years, making non-serious journalists violate the law. For instant, In Vietnam, we can easily recognize that when we read online newspapers. Although the titles are different, the contents are the same on many pages without the specific author's name or citations line. To sum up, it is imperative to thoroughly examine both merits and demerits of news media are indispensable in modern life. Furthermore, the negative effects still overweighs the benefits.