News and media are important in modern society. Why are they so important? Are their influences generally positive or negative?

People are now living in the information technology era with an open world where news and media play an essential part in human lives. The reason why they are indispensable in society as well as their impacts will be analyzed in this essay. The significance of news and media can be said thanks to the amount of information provided to the population. For a long time, news has been considered as an effective communication method for a majority of residents to stay updated with what is happening around. In other words, people will be informed of not only domestic news but also international affairs, which helps them open a new horizon of knowledge without traveling. Take tourism news or TV hospitality programs as an example. For some who have limited time and budget for excursions, they might be still able to have an overview of picturesque destinations as well as cognition about the local life of the places where they desire to reach without putting steps on. Despite the values of news and media, their effects are a double-edged sword. The positive side may be the right orientation for the readers and the public. This is likely to be true for health news when instructing people how to self-protect accurately and efficiently in an epidemic outbreak for example. However, the opposite side cannot be ignored. As the boom of news and media, if human beings are irresponsible to get news without the concern about sources, they can read fake news. This should be taken into account as a threat to national security as well as other aspects such as business due to the confusion led to the community. In conclusion, news and media are still a vital element in the majority. To make use of these sources of communication, each individual should be smart to evaluate both pros and cons.