Some people say that what children watch influences their behaviour. Others believe the amount of time they spend on television influences their behaviour most.

People have different views about whether it is the content of TV programs or the length of time spent on watching them has more significant impacts on children. While the amount of time devoted affects preschoolers, I would argue that content viewed has a more marked influence on them. On the one hand, the consequences of watching TV for long periods could be detrimental to the youngster. Firstly, the longer the children are exposed to programs broadcasted, the more likely it is for them to be addictive over time. If children are too over-reliant on TV for entertainment, they might neglect the outdoor activities, resulting in a sedentary lifestyle that is highly harmful to their physical health. Secondly, excessive time for TV watching would impair the children’s communication. For example, if children spend too much time in front of the TV screen, they are discouraged from interaction with others. Gradually, this habit would exclude them from their social lives and hinder their development of living skills as well as mental health. On the other hand, I strongly believe that the content shown on the screen have the most direct effects on the behavior of young viewers. The broadcasted images from TV could present inappropriate materials for teenagers such as violence, sex, and abusive language. When youngsters are unable to distinguish between the right and wrong at their age, they tend to adopt improper behaviors seen on TV. For instance, scenes of violence in movies typically showing poor examples for manner could make these adolescents fall under the impression that brutal and fighting is the feature of manliness and charm, later ending up the potential risk of committing a serious crime in the future. In conclusion, while time duration for sitting behind the screen has its own implication for children's behaviour and personality, it seems to me that the factor with more considerable impacts on shaping a child’s value is the content.