New technology has changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s world, children are enjoying their leisure in a radically different way, compared to those of any elder generations, thanks to innovative technologies. The society has sparked off a heated controversy over whether it is good or bad. Personally, I believe that this trend exerts a double- edged impact on children, which I will discuss below. To begin with, people supporting technologies mention its ability to make children’s pastime more interesting. Indeed, thanks to their attractive designs and outstanding functions, it is not difficult for technical devices to mesmerize kids, of whom the desire of trying ecstatic things is inherent in their thoughts. Moreover, this amusement is of great use in promoting creativity by its excessive loads of motivation in thinking out of the box, such as formulating innovative strategy to win a game, or developing an application meeting their peers’ interests. In other words, new technologies help children foster their passion for future occupations, like software operating or internet security. On the other hand, there are question marks over technology’s drawbacks. First, parents are worrying about its likelihood to support the sedentary lifestyle, which can lead to a variety of health problems, such as metabolism disorders, cardiovascular diseases or obesity. Furthermore, keeping their eyes at device monitors for a long time makes children suffer from refractive error. Another disadvantage is its ability to cause addiction, squandering children’s time, and making them neglect their main responsibilities. Therefore, the trend towards amusing by technology seems to be the major reason gaining many unprecedented problems in leaps and bounds. To sum up, detrimental as it is, new technology remains acceptable for children’s free time, thanks to its outweighed advantages. It is predicted to be more useful in the future, provided that kids are well - educated and mature enough.