New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

It is true that new technologies have impacted greatly on the way children using their free time. While this has several benefits. I believe that overall the drawbacks are greater. Admittedly, there are several advantages when children spend their spare time on using smartphones or gaining access to the Internet. Firstly, new technologies help schoolchildren entertain after a tiring day at school. They are able to discover many new contents on a network that can make them less stressful and develop their imagination. For example, my niece said she is a big fan of astronomy and the Internet strongly supports her in inquiring about planets. Secondly, children can also improve their skills such as reflexes, eye hand coordination and team working by devoting time to electrical games. In other words, playing games could help them hone their skills. Despite the positive impacts of new technologies. I believe that the drawbacks are far more significant. One reason for this view is that children can run the risk of many health problems. If they spend too much time on sitting in front of the screen, they can lead a more sedentary lifestyle which has many negative consequences such as obesity or eye blurred. Another reason is that spending too much time on using electrical equipments could lead to underperform in academical results. This means that youngsters cannot focus on the tasks due to the lingering images of games and makes them reduce in productivity. In conclusion, I firmly hold the view that new technologies have more disadvantages than advantages in lifestyle of children.