New technology has changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Online video games and electronic gadgets have taken an indispensable place in the current Young generation. It is advisable that, children should be inspired to devote a greater amount of time enjoying outdoor games and sports. I completely agree with the latter statement as leisure activities in open air yield more benefits and this essay will explain the reasons for the same. Firstly, youngsters should get involved more in outdoor activities rather than playing indoor because it helps in their mental and physical development. Playing outdoor nourishes children, who are stressed out with competitive academics, especially in urban areas, as open air refreshes their mind, moreover, this also helps in building their physical fitness. When an IQ test was conducted by UNICEF in various schools, participants from schools whose schedule comprised more of leisure sports have scored dramatically higher than pupil whose educations institute do not give any importance to games. Hence, children must be involved in leisure activities more frequently as it helps in up-bringing intelligence in parallel to physical growth. Also, hidden potential in children can be discovered when they attempt to play sports. Many children are blessed with inner talent which gets unnoticed since they never attempt to play as the situation never demands. A recent news channel reported that most of the national and international sports players, for example, Sania Mirza, Ferrer Rodger, Saina Nehwal, P. V. Sindhu etc. , had joined the sport just as a hobby, however, they were later identified as proficient players due to their ease in the sport skill and can be groomed to become professionals. In conclusion, youngsters should be involved more in playing outdoor sports and games as it helps in building their physical and intellectual fitness and furthermore, attempting to play sport may also unlock a child’s hidden prospective towards representing sport at regional level.