Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person s culture and character from their choice of clothes

The level of crime perpetrated by young people in most municipalities around the globe is on a rapid increase. I believe this development can be attributed to peer pressure and the absence of parental guidance. However, there are measures to be made in order to solve this problem. Firstly, crimes such as rape and cultism usually stem from peer pressure. Youths are easily influenced by members of their peer group because they either lack a mind of their own or want to remain relevant within popular circles. Consequently, they lack the will to object to the vices, their peers engage in. In addition, the younger generation engage in criminal activities because they lack parental guidance. Due to the competitiveness of the labour market, parents tend to spend long hours at work in order to get a good appraisal which lead to promotion. As a result, they barely know what their children are capable of and are hardly present to give proper counsel. One effective method that could be deployed in tackling this problem is by organising leadership programs in schools. These programs will be designed to make the rising generation know themselves better and expose them to a greater purpose in life. Additionally, employers should promote the culture of working remotely after office hours as opposed to staying late at the office so that employees would have a better work-life balance thereby spending more time with their children. A research carried out by the Department of Psychology at the University of Nairobi found that youths who have at least a parent counselling them daily were less prone to lead a life of crime. In conclusion, it is evident that youth crimes are on the rise for various reasons earlier stated. Therefore, some solutions have been proffered to curb this challenge and give young ones better purpose in life. Some include engaging them in leadership programs and giving parents the opportunity to work from home, thus, enabling them to be physically present to counsel their offsprings.