New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages? .

The effect of new technologies on children is a heated topic of debating in the today' s world. While some people think that new technologies have disadvantages in the way children spending their free time, I am of the opinion that the benefits outweight the disadvantages. There is a common belief that there are some drawbacks of spending too much time on technologies. With the development of smartphones and tablets, children usually keep their eyes glued to the screens. As a result, they are less likely to spend time on outdoor activities like playing football and swimming, which makes them more prone to obesity. In addition, the more time children spending on the Internet, the more they relying on their social network and the less time they spend with real friends. This might interfere the development of soft skills in children, like communication skills and team work skills. However, I am firmly of the opinion that the advantages of new technologies outweight the disadvantages. Thanks to the Internet, children nowadays have countless oportunities to access to a world of knowledge. With this knowledge, the self-study turns into more appealing to children and they are more likely to spend time on self-studying in order to broaden their knowledge. Morever, along with the Internet, language softwares allow children to learn foreign languages easier. Knowing more than one language will be benefical for children in the future, especially when they are seeking a job. In conclusion, I strongly believe that the influence of new technologies in the way children using their time is associated with lots of benefits, which far outweighting the drawbacks.