n today's competitive world, many families find it necessary for both parents to go out to work. While some say the children in these families benefit from the additional income, others feel they lack support because of their parents' absence.

Nowadays, it becomes mandatory for both parents to work. Although, many believe that the kids are the beneficiaries of the additional earnings, others think that the children lack attention as a result. While I agree that the children stands to gain from the extra wages, It has a debilitating effect on the children. The extra wages, provides clear advantages for the children. Firstly, feeding costs, school fees and medical expenses are all on the increase. Parents who want the best for their kids want the best Education for them which doesn't come cheap. Quality education brings out the best in children, enhances their self confidence, interpersonal skills and ensure they are well equipped for future challenges. Also, emergency situations like unpredictable medical events can occur which requires immediate funding and attention. For instance, it was reported recently about 30% of parents had lost their offsprings to certain ailment due to inadequate resources. On the other hand, having resources without giving necessary attention to these children psychologically affects their growth and mental health. They are not able to establish a good relationship with the parents and thus cannot confide in them which makes it easy for peer pressure influence. This can greatly affect their habit forming and cause them to embrace social vices like stealing, smoking and drinking. The result of which can greatly affect their health and future. A recent research discovered that 20% of deaths from lung cancer(caused by excessive smoking) are below the age of 18 whose parents are no longer there to cater for them In conclusion, it is awesome for parents to work and get extra income for the children's welfare, the lack of care and support that comes from it should not be encouraged. Parents should strike balance between work and having to be there for the children to foster a greater, healthier homes