In today’s competitive world, many families find it necessary for both parents to go out to work. While some say the children in these families benefit from the additional income, others feel they lack support because of their parents’ absence.

Nowadays, many families have to balance the need for additional income with the necessity of providing a secure, comforting environment for their children. I believe that the latter is more important. This essay will discuss both points of view. To have sufficient funds to raise a child, often the only option in today’s tough economic climate is for both parents to work, either in a part-time or full-time capacity. Not only does this provide money for the day-to-day essentials but it also allows the family to live in a neighbourhood where the best schools are situated. The result of this is that a solution has to be found for when children finish school before their parents arrive home. After-school clubs are plentiful; other options include family members looking after the children either voluntarily or on a paid basis, often at a reduced rate. A pupil at primary school needs the comforting reassurance of somebody at home or at the school gate when he or she finishes the school day. Whether it is to tell that person about a good mark for homework or to discuss any problems, the mere presence of another human being provides invaluable support. So-called latchkey youngsters often mix with others in the same position and this can lead to undesirable consequences such as involvement in crime, drugs or alcohol. Help with homework as well as providing food and drink are other advantages. In conclusion, although extra income is always welcome, I believe that the positive aspects of the support of one or more parents far outweigh any monetary gain.