Many families move to different countries. Some people think children can benefit from this, while others consider it is hard for children if families move to a foreign country.

Immigration is becoming quite popular. Several families have moved from their home countries to settle in foreign lands. While many think this move may be difficult for the children, others believe it will be of great benefit to them. Although I will be discussing both views in this essay, I believe that the young ones will gain from this experience by meeting new people with different cultures and beliefs. A major reason why migration may be a hard journey for children is that they do not adjust to new environments as fast as adults because they leave their old friends and some family members behind. So, they emotionally detach themselves from their new community thinking that if they were happy there, they will be betraying their old friends. This thought lead to them isolating themselves from others. I remember when I had to move to the UK with my parents. My father was to attend a course there that lasted for one year. I can remember being quite uncomfortable because everyone was strange according to my opinion and found it difficult to loosen up. On the other hand, Despite the initial awkwardness of meeting new people, If you get to know them, it can be quite enlightening. There are many times I was reluctant to make new friends but they turned out to become amazing individuals. A good example was my roommate in university, Praia, who is from India and Hindu. I was sceptical about being friends with her because I thought she was so different from me. But further down the line, we became great friends. I ended up learning a lot about Indian culture and Hinduism as a religion from her. If I had not given her a chance, I would have lost out on information and friendship. In conclusion, even though settling in a new place can be stressful, it is also beneficial to learn new cultures and beliefs.