In today’s competitive world, many families find it necessary for both parents to go out to work. While some say the children in these families benefit from the additional income, others feel they lack support because of their parents’ absence.

Nowadays, both a husband and a wife have to be employed to provide sufficient income for them and their children. While some people argue that this is inevitable, others believe that it harms the development of their offspring. I believe that the latter is true. This essay will discuss both points of view. It is not only desirable, but also often compulsory for both parents to work in today’s difficult economic climate. Despite the potential problems for the children, employment, either part-time or full-time, is the only solution to have enough funds to raise a child. For example, a family needs to live in an expensive neighbourhood to be able to send a child to one of the best schools. However, the result of this is that a solution has to be found for when children arrive home before their parents. After-school clubs are plentiful; other options include family members looking after the children either voluntarily or on a paid basis, often at a reduced rate. Either the husband or wife may also work overtime, thus providing even more money. The support of at least one parent being at home at the end of the day is a comforting reassurance for a pupil. For instance, telling a person about a good mark for homework or discussing any problems makes the youngster feel good and strengthens the relationship. Offspring appreciate someone who can provide food and drink. Parents who leave home early in the morning and who do not return until late evening risk creating so-called latchkey youngsters: those who mix with others in the same position leading to undesirable consequences such as involvement in crime, drugs or alcohol. Help with homework as well as providing food and drink are other advantages. In conclusion, although extra income is always welcome, I believe that the positive aspects of the support of one or more parents far outweigh any monetary gain. Even though a reduced income results from a parent not working, the emotional well-being of a child undoubtedly increases.