Music is played in every society and culture in the world today. Some people think that music only brings benefits to individuals and societies. Others, however think that music can have a negative influence on both.

Music is rapidly becoming a vital part of human existence as it is cherished globally. Although, some are of the school of thought that music has a positive impact on people and communities, others believe it can also have deleterious effects instead. In my opinion, music is capable of having deterimental effects on humans and their communities. On one hand, music has benefited mankind tremendously since the dawn of time. It has relaxing properties on the body, especially in its slow forms. It can even calm the fiercest of persons. In addition, it gives people a means to express themselves and has been used for centuries as a form of communication. For example, in 2011, a research carried out at the Harvard medical institute, revealed that listening to music can significantly lower blood pressure, as well as improving mood. This has been so adapted that it has recently being used to calm hysterical patients On the other hand, music tends to influence the life of its listeners, whether consciously or unconsciously. People relate to the forms of music they listen to and can change their behaviors to suit it. In this modern age, where lyrics are written without regard for moral standards, it is easy for it to corrupt young, as well as weak minds and this poses a danger to society. For instance, research has shown that people who frequently listen to music that promotes any kind of violence, tend to develop these tendencies. It also explained that communities where these forms of music are popular report high crime rates. In conclusion, everywhere around the world, music can be found in different forms. Some are of the opinion that it is only beneficial, while others believe it can also  be detrimental to individuals and the public. I believe that despite its good parts, music can influence people and their surroundings negatively.