Multi-cultural societies, which are a mixture of different ethnicity people, bring more benefits than drawbacks to a country.

We are currently living in a modern society when an increasing number of immigrants based on various ethnicities are mixing into. While some argue that these multicultural societies can bring us drawbacks, I believe that this phenomenon has more positive impacts. On the one hand, specific sorts of criminal cases have been on a rise in multicultural countries. It is not surprising that ethnic ghettos may be prevalent in interconnected countries, as poorer-wealthier group gaps based on ethnicities are becoming more deteriorated. More specifically, in New York, where is one of the biggest cultural melting pots, Harlem Street is well-known as the notorious crime rate. Aside from that, racism may occur as a social problem. Some ignorant ethnicity group may have thought that they are superior to others, and thus they can underestimate people from different cultural and religious backgrounds and commit hatred crimes. Despite these drawbacks, ethnic diversity benefits societies, affecting business, personal experiences and tourism. From an economic perspective, firstly, multinational enterprises show more flexible and innovative decision making from combinations of employees hailed from various educational, cultural, and vocational backgrounds. Secondly, individuals in multicultural countries are more likely to embrace diversities and be open-minded through experiences of making friends rooted in another country. Multicultural societies can provide people experiences exposing to exotic cultures without travelling abroad. Finally, multicultural countries can attract tourists with many culturally featured places. For example, Singapore, which Malay, Indian and Chinese ethnics all combined together, shows all cases mentioned above with great economic progress with harmony policies implemented after independence. In conclusion, there are convincing arguments for and against multicultural societies, but I believe that it is more beneficial than harmful to communities.