Multicultural societies, in which there is a mixture of different ethnicpeoples, bring more benefits than drawbacks of a country. To whatextent

In the modern era of globalization, the presence of multicultural communities is more likely than before. It has been debatable whether this kind of mixture is beneficial to the whole society or it is detrimental. I, personally, believe that the merits of a multicultural community outstrip its demerits. Firstly, the presence of diverse cultural backgrounds will enrich the education system. It is irrefutable that multilingual education is better than a system based on one language. Bilingual students showed to have better communication skills and less liable to have cultural problems when traveling abroad. Besides, this type of education promotes creativity. In a study conducted int the USA, the grades of bilingual students were significantly better others who speak only English. Therefore, a community that contains people from different cultural backgrounds should have a better education system. Secondly, there is a high competition among individuals from different cultures to secure a high-paid job. People will strive to have better job qualifications. Only well-trained persons could find a job in such communities. For example, in Canada, every year, more than 125000 new immigrants compete together to find vocations. Thus, not only does a multicultural society have better education but also has a highly competitive job market. On the other hand, such communities may have minorities problems such as racial discrimination. History is full of examples where the majority dominated minority groups. For example, until the last century, American black people had fewer rights and privileges when compared to white. Therefore, if the authorities cannot protect the minorities’ rights, the society will face many hardships which can negatively affect its development and progress. To conclude, a multicultural community has pros and cons; nevertheless, in my opinion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.