motorways help people travel quickly and cover long distances but they also cause problems. what are the problems of motorways and what solutions are there?

It is obvious that the number of different means of transport has been increasing rapidly these days, also highways are being expanded everywhere. Although motorways allow drivers to travel comfortably and shorten the long distance, there are also a range of significant problems. This essay will discuss some of these problems in detail, and then propose some corresponding solutions. One of the major problems that motorways bring is accidents because of traveling at high speed, particularly in bad weather or at crossroads. In Germany, for instance, more than half of the total length of the Autobahn highways has no speed limit, this means that some cars with extremely powerful engines can reach a speed of over 300 km/h. As a result, many serious accidents might happen and cause severe damages to people and vehicles. To solve this situation, the government should set speed limits for each kind of vehicle, exhibit traffic signs, and tighten the permission of driving license. It is undeniable that air and noise pollution should be considered as worth mentioning issues. The exhaust fumes from vehicles could cause air pollution, and as a consequence, people are increasingly suffering from respiratory diseases such as pneumonia or asthma. Also, due to the enormous increase in engines’ sound and car honks, noise pollution might lead to some physical and mental illnesses including sleep disorder, depression, or even hearing-impaired situations. These problems could be dealt with by constructing freeways far away from residential areas and manufacturing environmentally-friendly vehicles. In conclusion, although it is clear that highways cause a variety of problems, these issues are undoubtedly possible to be tackled.