Most societies has its homeless people. Some people think that the best way to help them is to give them money.

World economic development has rescued many people out of deprivation and brought a better life, whereas most of people claim this trend leads to the loss of traditional values. In my opinion this trend has more merits and demerits which are manageable to cope with. On the one hand, many benefits are brought because of economic growth. Firstly, it reduces impoverishment and improves the quality of life. While economy grows, more job opportunities are being generated. The income from jobs can help the society escape poverty and people can have a better standard of living. In addition, people can have access to education when they can afford the tuition fee. Through education, people gain a variety of knowledge in many fields, and learn how to use it for a better world. For example, Singapore used to be one of the world's poorest islands has become one of the richest countries. Government attracts foreign investors with no taxes, invests 20% of its GDP into education. Citizens of Singapore study at most prestigious universities around the for free. On the other hand, there is no denying the fact that some traditional values are perishing because of the consumerism. For example, after meeting basic needs, people are eager to pursue more luxurious items without cherishing the things they have already owned. Humans think that everything can be bought with money, even friendship and love. When the society becomes like this, it is hard for us to trust others or build a true relationship. However, the social values can be restored by imparting moral lessons from an early age. People can cultivate the correct moral values and stick to those principles even though the society may be changing. For example, China and Japan keep their traditional culture alive by celebrating Lunar Year and Respect for aged day. Celebrating holidays together helps to nurture the family connections, giving a sense of belonging and celebrate generations of families. More importantly, traditions create positive memories for children. To conclude, the society should develop the economy because it brings immense benefits, such as improved quality of life and chance to acquire education. As for the risk of losing social values, it can be prevented by giving value education from an early age.