Most societies has its homeless people. Some people think that the best way to help them is to give them money.

A large number of communities have homeless individuals. Several people think the best way that they can be helpful is by giving them money, I disagree with the idea. Firstly, this essay will discuss why is giving money is not beneficial secondly, it will discuss better ways to help. Substance abuse is one of the causes of homelessness. Since addicts are struggling between going to work, paying the bills and their drug problems and because of that a great deal will lose their house in the process. According to a study done by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services in 2016, 36% of homeless people were dependent on alcohol abuse and 31% were abused other drugs. For this reason I’m against the idea of giving homeless people money, as most would use it to buy alcohol or any other type of drugs. And that will aggravate the problem and make the situation worse. However, there is a lot if ways we can be useful, since most are not apple to work and gain money, buying them food, new clothes and if they needs medical care we can also pay for the medical bills. The greatest way we can aid them is by helping them to get back on their feet and that can be done either by paying for the drug rehabilitation center and assisting them to overcome the drug problem if they have one and support them to find a job and a home to live in. In conclusion, giving money to homeless individuals can impact them in a negative way rather than helping and there is a lot of other good approach.