Q5. 8 Her back hurts and it is hard for her to carry around all the text books for the classes. The two people talk about the woman's problem. Describe the problem and state which of the two solutions you prefer and why.

Our society, these past weeks, has been tested to its limits because of the unexpected quarantine that had to be enforced. This mean that people must spend a lot of time in their households with limited options to entertain themselves. A big dilemma then rises as to what is more beneficial for us to do in this time, read books or spend our time surfing the web or watching Tv. In this essay I will discuss what, in my opinion, is the best alternative. Firstly, as we are all aware of books are a really important factor in our lives due to the positive affect, they have on us. The range of books is fascinating, and they all offer us a better understanding of the outside world, but also the emotional side of us. Furthermore, they enrich our knowledge and of course improve our vocabulary which is important for all kinds of communication (written or oral). To illustrate, a survey carried out by the university of Cambridge showed that 4/5 people that read books on a daily basis have a more flexible vocabulary and impressive communicational skills. Secondly, there are some pros and cons referring to time spent on computers or the television. On the one hand, both take a part in broadening our horizons and sharpening our critical thinking. This is achieved with the information that we accumulate from the news, shows, movies and articles we come across. However, this information is not always true, although it seems like it. On the other hand, the dangers that these media sources withhold are worrying. On the internet people can get hooked on gambling websites and loose a fortune or be harassed on chatting websites. In addition, on Tv people can spend all their time watching reality shows that have nothing constructive to offer them. For example, the Greek government surveyed about what people have been doing on the web these past few weeks and saw a raise of 40% in gambling websites. In conclusion, books and media have a lot to offer to the individual. In my opinion, people should spend their time responsibly on both, but must be better informed about the drawbacks that the internet and tv have.