Most people take interviews to select a person for job. What are the other ways? What do you think is the best way to recruit new employees?

Taking interviews to hire new employees has been a trend among the organizations since long. Taking an interview is necessary to ascertain the work skills of a prospective worker. However, there are some other ways to assess a person's adeptness including a written test and checking his academic records to name a few. Since time immemorial, conducting interviews has been a traditional way that the companies have been following. Assessing a potential worker this way can enable an interviewer to know a lot of things about him including his technical and communication skills. For instance, when I was at my college placement drive where I was assigned the task of hiring freshers for a top IT employer, I remember to have been impressed by so many selected students just by their communication skills and the level of confidence they had shown on their faces. It is for these reasons why conducting an interview is considered a superior approach when it comes to recruiting any new employee. However, there can be several other ways to examine a person for the job. Firstly, a computer-based written examination can be conducted to better judge a candidate's skills. This will not only test his technical ability, but also his logical reasoning. I, for example, got selected by clearing the assessment in the same approach chosen by my current employer. In addition to that, going through the academic records of the candidate can also suffice the purpose. To exemplify, many companies in the third world countries are using this ideology of recruiting freshers just by going through their academic performance over the years spent in university. These facts support the idea of adapting different approaches to select newbies for an institution. To sum things up, almost all the firms have always been inclined towards the opinion of conducting face-to-face assessments to take in new workforce. This essay threw light on the fact that inspite of the ubiquity of the interviews, there can be countless number of other ways to judge how consummate a potential worker is before hiring him for the job.