In some countries, young people have little leisure time and are under a lot of pressure to work hard on their studies. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Learning is a process that requires a lot of hard work. Despite this, young people need to create time for leisure activities to relieve themselves of the tension that comes with their studies. There are a number of reasons why young people in certain countries are under pressure to study hard with little or no time for relaxation. This essay will highlight the causes and will also suggest possible solutions to them. Perhaps the most important cause is the general perception that one can only get good and well-paying jobs by studying hard. A lot of young people who have dreams of living luxurious lives therefore believe that the only way of actualising their dreams is to study hard with little or no time for relaxation. Another possible cause is parental influence. A lot of parents are hard on their children in matters related to their academic performance. These children are often afraid to go home with poor grades because of the reaction they will likely get from their parents. To avoid this, they will often study hard in school just to impress their parents. For example, in a typical Nigerian home where I come from, children are often scared of showing their school report to their parents if they have any grade that falls short of an A. They therefore are under a lot of pressure studying so they can obtain grades that their parents will be proud of. To suggest possible solutions, the most important will probably be to create awareness in schools on the importance of leisure activities while studying and the possible health and mental side effects of not doing so. Schools should also create conducive environment for learning with leisure facilities that are easily accessible. Parents also need to be enlightened on the need to support their children in their weak subjects rather than criticise them. To conclude, good results can only be achieved when there is a good balance between work and play.