Most people believe that stricter punishments should be given for traffic offences. To what extent do you agree or disagree

The various measures are taken to ensure the safety of passengers on road. Although setting severe punishments for committing traffic offences would be a valuable way to increase the awareness of drivers, i believe that there are some other measures to deal with traffic violence on road. On the one hand, strict punishments, obviously, can be an effective way to reduce the number of traffic accidents on road. If people are informed that for breaking or ignoring a rule of the road can cost them a lot, the will probably begin to drive more safely. Establishing high fines or licence suspection, or even prison sentences, for example, would raise awareness among drivers, especially for dangerous ones'. As a result, by introducing stricter regulations not only negative consequences of traffic offences, such as deep injuries or in many cases death, would be overcomed, but also drivers would obey the rules more carefully. However, despite establishing harsh punishments would be reasonable approach to some extent, i think that some other methods can be implemented. Firstly, when people are receiving their driving licence, the passing driving tests should be stricter, so that they would take their driving lessons more seriously. Even though the number of people who can get licence would decrease, this in turn would have a positive influence on road safety in a way that the number of dangerous drivers would reduce; therefore, many lives would be preserved. Secondly, i also think that improving or establishing some more signs on roads would be another way to ensure the security on roads. Take as an example the speed limits on particular areas: if this signages are installed, drivers would have less problems related to finding the unknown place, thus, would be far to commit a driving offences. Instead of setting severe punishments in these situations which would be unfair, i believe it would be reasonable first to enhance the infrastructure of roads in order to provide security and demand from people to drive more carefully. In conclusion, while i can understand that harsh penalties would be valid choice in some cases, i believe that apart from it there are some other more soft measures that could be taken to guarantee the security on roads.