Some people think that the only way to improve safety on our roads is to give much stricter punishments on driving offences.

Life is very precious, and many people die annually around the world as a result of reckless driving. Most of the experts believe that imposing heavy penalties for unlawfully driving is the better solution, whereas others argue that there should be other methods. I believe that the first argument is a better method. However, there should be other actions too to produce obedient drivers. Undoubtedly human errors can happen, and should not ignore. Even though it is a human error, the driver should be punished, with a warning. These warnings can accumulate in a point system and could provide negative marks. Heavy penalties will increase the stress of the drivers and ultimately lose confidence in driving. Nevertheless, there are many scenarios of unlawful driving. To name a few, young drivers seek thrill while over speeding, bike riders enjoy riding on a single wheel, and few people even drive while they are drunk. As long as these offences are done deliberately, there should be heavy penalties to control this behaviour. These penalties can be in the form of a large sum of fines, suspending the driving license, and even imprisonment. However, all the drivers should be appropriately educated on road rules and regulations before providing a driving license. Not only that, there should be a probationary period to observe a new license, and people who will be caught with driving offences should not be allowed to get a permanent driving license unless they go through a proper driving test again. In conclusion, much strick punishments should be imposed to improve road safety while the governments should take more precautions on educating the drivers on road rules and regulations.