Most people believe that stricter punishment should be given for traffic offences.

There is no doubt that in recent years road safety is becoming an increasing concern, alongside it’s subsequent rise in traffic offences. I agree with the majority that such offenders should be faced with strict penalties. First and foremost, it is necessary to find alternative measures to punish minor offences, like speeding, jaywalking and other violations. Studies have shown that a penalty by itself will not be adequate to deter such circumstances from further occurring in the future. Instead of merely charging a fine, a court-ordered period of volunteering work will not only lead to their reformation, but would also be useful for the betterment of society. Conversely, if such offences were only met with a small punishment, then people would not fear the consequences, and thus, would not be adequately motivated to improve road safety. Furthermore, major offences should have legislature that is strictly enforced in order to safeguard the streets. I believe that offences such as driving under the influence, and hit-and-run should be made non-bailable and these criminals should face an period of jail time. Less serious cases like rash driving should be threatened with suspension of license or even revoked depending on the type and number of misdemeanours. As a result, fewer people will be prone to accidents, thereby, improving the safety of both the commuters and the pedestrians. To conclude, I believe that’s traffic violations should not only be met with fines, but also with stricter punishments, such as license suspension and jail terms to prevent a threat to the safety of citizens.