Most people agree that money cannot be happiness. Why is happiness difficult to define? How can people achieve happiness?

Most people believe that there is no direct relation between money and happiness. There are various factors other than money that can make people happy. Happiness is a feeling that depends upon the needs of an individual and this makes it difficult to define. There are plenty of ways through which people can achieve happiness. Happiness is a subjective feeling, which makes it difficult to define. In other words, happiness depends entirely on an individual and his or her needs at any point of time. Different people might have different needs; hence factors which make people happy vary from person to person. Generally speaking, people tend to feel happy when their needs are satisfied / fulfilled. Furthermore, as the needs of people change over the years, the factors influencing their happiness also change, making it more difficult to define happiness. For instance, a chocolate can make a child happy; however, it does not mean much for an adult. Money might be a source of happiness for an adult but it is of little value for a child. There can be different factors which makes people feel happy. One of the factors that might lead to happiness is job satisfaction. If people are satisfied with the kind of job they are doing, they tend to feel happy. Another factor leading to happiness is a loving family and friends. If the people in an individual’s life are loving and caring, they tend to be happy. Finally, doing social work can also lead to happiness. In other words, people feel happy when they serve the society and contribute towards making it a better place to live in. For instance, a doctor might find happiness in treating people for free. In conclusion, there are several factors that can contribute towards happiness of different individuals. However, specific factors which make individuals happy are those which satisfy their needs at that point of time.