Most of the people send text messages rather than calling. Explain the reasons for it. Do you think sending text message is an advantage or disadvantage?

Nowadays, sending a text message has become more popular than making a phone call. There are numerous reasons available to justify this statement. In my opinion, there are a lot more advantages than disadvantages to the practice of sending text messages. One good reason for people to send text messages to others is that they are cost efficient. A text message is much cheaper than a voice call. Almost every telecom company is offering free services for messaging applications. Secondly, texting is considered ‘cool’. For instance, a survey taken by a university reveals that almost 70% of the young generation prefer to use Whatsapp messenger to text their friends rather than using a voice call to speak. According to young people, using a messaging application like Whatsapp or Wechat is trendier than using a voice call application. As for the advantages, texting is a quick and efficient way to convey information. Also, a text message is much less intrusive than a voice call. It gives the recipient to take their own time to reply whereas when you make a call, you could cause inconvenience to the other person by calling at the wrong time. However, when you leave a text message, the other party is not disturbed and they can decide whether they want to reply or not. Another advantage of texting is that it is very convenient. There are certain environments which are unsuitable for making voice calls. For example, you can’t make a voice call from a highly noisy or very quiet environment. In conclusion, the practice of sending text messages certainly has a few disadvantages. For example, we may not get an instant reply. Even so, texting has many advantages over voice calling because it is cheaper, less intrusive and more convenient.