Some people say that protecting the environment is the government's responsibility. Others believe that every individual should be responsible for it.

Opinions are divided on whether the environment should be preserved solely by the government or people. I think that although the government can make a notable contribution to protect our natural surroundings, the individuals can do more. On the one hand, it is often argued that the onus of protecting mother-nature lies with those who are in authority. This is because the executive bodies can do legislation for the restraint of diverse environmental issues such as the air, water, and noise pollution to impose hefty fines on those recklessly damaging these precious entities. To illustrate, most of the countries are rigorously making laws for those industrial outlets which dump their effluents in the open water reservoirs. This helps to keep the natural reserves clean for animal species, as well as the urban and rural residents from noxious industrial effluents. Another measure the government can take is to run environmental awareness campaigns using multiple forms of mass media like TV, newspapers, and magazines. This will educate people about a plethora of repercussions our planet and future generations will ruthlessly suffer if we do not take this issue seriously. However, a wider section of society believes that each person can play a vital role to conserve one’s neighborhood, and I endorse this view. The reason for this is that it is in the hands of each individual to restrict the number of pollutants thrown into the air, water or land. For example, cars are a major source of carbon-based pollution because they exhaust directly into the air. If owners of private vehicles prefer to use public transport for the majority of their work, this will improve the air quality, rendering it breathable. Furthermore, those in charge of their homes can make sure that they dump their household waste properly into recycle stations themselves or by taking the services of a renowned waste management company, rather flushing it directly into the streets, rivers, and canals. Therefore, this will ensure the safety and cleanliness of our natural habitat. In conclusion, while people have differing views about environmental integrity, I opine that the residents can do more to protect it, despite the efforts the states are making.