Children are facing more pressures from academic, social and commercial sources. What are the causes of these pressures and what measures should be taken to reduce it?

Nobody could deny that, in the 21st Century, an enormous amount of stress is exerted on youngsters through educational and socio-economic channels. This is mainly caused by the competition for grades and peers. This issue could be mitigated by improving education methods, as well as by educating parents. Today’s youth is influenced negatively by educational institutes and their social circles. Whilst in the classroom, students are forced to study for longer hours, learn lessons by heart and subjected to hefty competition, which has no apparent fruitful purpose rather than just to bring high grades, demanded by teachers and parents alike. This, in turn, causes depression in the immature minds. Peer pressure, in the same pattern, puts a variety of social tensions to those who are in the circle. Such young minds are often stigmatised by their peers if they are not willing to participate in the activities and are not admired by their social allies. This accumulated pressure is often exacerbated by the social media. To address this issue, schools need to focus on the development of new teaching methods and promote innovative learning techniques, which will inculcate creativity in children. Such practice will not only improve performance grade-wise, but also their mental health. Similarly, parents ought to be encouraged through meetings and awareness campaigns to not to force their offspring for choosing irrelevant subjects at primary level and push them to achieve higher marks in the examinations. Instead, they should be given an open choice according to their likings. Thus, the detrimental effects exerted by such a negative environment could be easily alleviated by adopting these strategies. In conclusion, although negative forces influencing children are usually caused by the lack of proper educational methods and peer-oriented stigma, nonetheless, these can be easily curbed by redesigning the teaching culture and educating parents.