Many people today use their phones to communicate by sending text messages than talking. What are the reasons for this? Are there more advantages than disadvantages?

Mobile phones have changed the horizon of communication in the present scenario. There is a considerable shift in the trend of how people are using their mobile phones today; as they are indulged in more of texting than actual conversation. This shift is caused due to certain reasons and has significant effect on the society. I opine that, text messages have a plethora of advantages than disadvantages. The upcoming paragraphs will elucidate my perspective with relevant examples. As the people are getting busier, in order to keep their personal life at par with work life, they prefer opting for conversing using text messages rather than calling, because, texting allows two people to connect without any compulsion of immediate response. Moreover, texting has become more interesting and expressive with the introduction of different emojis and graphical messages. However, texting can be disadvantageous at times. To ring up a curtain, it can be argued that, increased use of texting may cause communication gaps. To exemplify, text messages lack emotions, and tone therefore, it is difficult to differentiate that whether a message is a joke, information or sarcasm. Conveying messages through non-verbal mode of communication can be a crucial cause of misunderstanding. On the contrary, conveying messages through texting is convenient and easy, both in terms of time and cost which is also the prime reason for its popularity among people. For instance, a message takes approximately ten seconds to write and send whereas if the same information ought to be delivered by call it will take minimum 5-7 minutes. Moreover, the cost of SMS is relatively less than that of talk time and can prove to be the only resort at the time of emergencies. Hence, it is agreed that the reason for inclination of people towards texting instead of calling is because of its time and cost efficiency. To recapitulate, I reckon that, texting is the best way to avoid an uncomfortable phone conversation or disturbing someone by calling at odd hours. Thereby, confirming that the advantages of texting outshine its disadvantages.