Capital punishment is good for countries.

It is argued by some that the death penalty benefits a nation. I completely agree with this opinion and in this essay I will state the reasons for my view. The most compelling reason for holding to my view is that the death penalty would effectively deter people from committing serious crimes. This is because it instils fear of carrying out such crimes as people would not want to lose their life as a result of that. Such a policy would thus stop citizens from committing offences and this would help in reducing crime rate. Another reason for my position is that the death sentence would reduce the cost of imprisonment substantially as the government will be able to spend less money on keeping the criminal in prison. If the criminal is jailed for many years or for life, the government would need to pay for the enormous expenses involved such as the cost of food for the prisoners and the salaries for the prison officers. However, with the death sentence, the prisoner will spend less time in prison and the cost would decrease significantly. Lastly, capital punishment would ensure that dangerous criminals do not commit the same crime again. Indeed, if criminals only go to prison, they could repeat the same crime when they are released. On the other hand, if they are executed, they will not pose a threat to society ever again. In conclusion, I totally agree with the opinion that sentencing serious criminals to death is beneficial for countries. This is because of its deterrent effect, its ability to save the government a lot of money and the fact that we can keep dangerous criminals out of society forever.